Awards | Southern Foodways Alliance arrow left envelope headphones search facebook instagram twitter flickr menu rss play circle itunes calendar


Each year, the Southern Foodways Alliance celebrates men and women whose lifework enriches Southern food culture. Seven SFA awards and honors recognize these cultural standard bearers.


Fellows are individuals working towards a better South. Do Good Fellows are working artists recognized by the Do Good Fund. Margie Samuels Fellows are journalists recognized by Rob Samuels and Maker’s Mark.

Learn More

Fellowship of Southern Farmers, Artisans & Chefs

The Fellowship of Southern Farmers, Artisans, and Chefs fosters camaraderie and mentorship, honoring the bounty of the South and the hands that grow, nurture and interpret its harvest.

Learn More

Lifetime Achievement Award

The SFA’s Lifetime Achievement Award goes to an individual whom all thinking eaters should know, the sort of person who has made an indelible mark upon our cuisine and our culture, the sort of person who has set regional standards and catalyzed national dialogues.

Learn More

Ruth Fertel Keeper of the Flame Award

Each fall, the SFA, with support from the Fertel Foundation, honors an unsung hero or heroine, a foodways tradition bearer of note, with the Ruth Fertel Keeper of the Flame Award.

Learn More

Smith Fellows

In 2014, the SFA selected the first class of Smith Fellows. The program, underwritten by a gift from Pam and Brook Smith, celebrates individuals whose work promises a positive impact on the southern region and its foodways.

Learn More

Tabasco Guardians of the Tradition

The heroes of our cuisine are often unsung and uncelebrated women and men. Their considerable skills tend not to be rewarded with the type of fame and fortune that is increasingly part and parcel of the white tablecloth world of celebrity chefs and destination restaurants.

Still we recognize…

Learn More

The John Egerton Prize

For his work in chronicling and championing the cause of civil rights in America, and for his contribution to our understanding of the power of the common table, the John Egerton Prize recognizes artists, writers, scholars, and others–including artisans and farmers and cooks–whose work,…

Learn More

Let’s Stay in Touch

Sign up for the SFA newsletter to have the latest content
delivered directly to your inbox.