Nashville: Corn-fed and Cornbread City

2016 SFA Summer Foodways Symposium

Roster of Attendees

Kristie Abney
SFA Board
Atlanta, GA
kristie.abney@gmail.com

Bill Addison
SFA Board / Eater
Atlanta, GA
billatl@gmail.com

Meta Adler
Ham & Yams
Savannah, GA
margaretladler@gmail.com

Brett Anderson
SFA Board / Times-Picayune
New Orleans, LA
bretta1@gmail.com

Traci Armstrong
Bluffton Catering
Bluffton, SC
traci@blufftoncatering.com

Kahlil Arnold
Arnold’s Country Kitchen
Nashville, TN
kahlilarnold@yahoo.com

Jeremiah Bacon
The Macintosh
Charleston, SC
jbacon@theindigoroad.com

Liz Bacon
The Macintosh
Charleston, SC
lbacon@theindigoroad.com

Julia Baker
Phase 3 Marketing & Communications
Atlanta, GA
julia@thereynoldsgroupinc.com

Ramien Balouch
Butcher and Bee
Nashville, TN
rbalouch@butcherandbee.com

Bev Bartow
New York, NY
bjbartow@yahoo.com

Michael Benedict
Daytona Beach, FL
michael@benedictadvertising.com

Ali Beston
Cathead Distillery
Nashville, TN
ali@catheaddistillery.com

Vanessa Driscoll Bialobreski
Farm to Table Event Company
Columbia, SC
vanessa@farmtotableeventco.com

Scott Blackwell
High Wire Distillery
Charleston, SC
letsmojo@mac.com

Olga Boikess
Washington, D.C.
boikess@hotmail.com

Matt Bolus
The 404 Kitchen
Nashville, TN
matt@the404nashville.com

Joe Bonaparte
Culinary Institute of Myrtle Beach
Murrells Inlet, SC
joseph.bonaparte@hgtc.edu

Carrie Bregar
Jim ‘N Nicks
Tuscaloosa, AL
cbregar@1stfed.com

Carey Bringle
Peg Leg Porker
Nashville, TN
cbringle@peglegporker.com

Delaniah Bringle
Peg Leg Porker
Nashville, TN
dbringle@hotmail.com

Sean Brock
Husk
Nashville, TN
kcunningham@ndgcharleston.com

Cathy Brown
Nashville, TN
cathystewart@comcast.net

Eliza Brown
San Francisco, CA
eliza.brown@sbcglobal.net

Martin Brown
Nashville, TN
martin.brown@arlaw.com

Tyler Brown
Southall Farms
Franklin, TN
tbrown@southallfarms.com

Griffin Bufkin
Southern Soul BBQ
St. Simon, Island, GA
griffin@southernsoulbbq.com

Fern Bugg
Wilmington, NC
fernbugg@gmail.com

Travis Burch
Heirloom Café
Athens, GA
travis@heirloomathens.com

Karen Burgess
Tuscaloosa, AL
kburgess@ua.edu

Brandon Cain
Roots and Revelry
Birmingham, AL
bcain878@gmail.com

Laura Candler
Lodge Manufacturing Company
South Pittsburg, TN
lcandler@lodgemfg.com

Linda Carman
Martha White / DVL Seigenthaler
Nashville, TN
linda.carman@dvlseigenthaler.com

Sheri Castle
Pittsboro, NC
shericastle@usa.net

Chris Chamberlain
Nashville, TN
cchamberlain@gmail.com

Maneet Chauhan
Chauhan Ale & Masala House
Nashville, TN
maneetchauhan@hotmail.com

Katy Clune
Durham, NC
katy.a.clune@gmail.com

Tamie Cook
Tamie Cook Culinary Productions
East Point, GA
tamiecook@hotmail.com

Peter Cooper
Country Music Hall of Fame
Nashville, TN
pcooper@countrymusichalloffame.org

Julia Couch
Phase 3 Marketing & Communications
Nashville, TN
julia.couch@phase3mc.com

Chip Cox
Nashville, TN
chipcox@mac.com

Faison Cushman
Myrtle Beach, SC
FCushman2@aol.com

David Dark
Belmont University
Nashville, TN
david.dark@belmont.edu

Timothy C. Davis
Nashville, TN
timothycdavis1@gmail.com

Nikki Neely Davis
University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS
nlneely@olemiss.edu

Janene Davison
Galveston College
Galveston, TX
jdavison@gc.edu

Mallory deGolian
Atlanta, GA
mmdegolian@gmail.com

Lynne Ann DeSpelder
Capitola, CA
pacpubs@attglobal.net

Lisa Donovan
Buttermilk Road
Nashville, TN
lisadonovan77@gmail.com

Mike Drury
Stonewood Grill & Tavern
Daytona Beach, FL
mdrury@stonewoodgrill.com

John T Edge
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
info@southernfoodways.org

Elizabeth Engelhardt
SFA Board / UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC
e.engelhardt@unc.edu

Valerie Erwin
SFA Board
Philadelphia, PA
valeriejeanerwin@gmail.com

David Ewing
Rudy, Wood, Winstead, & Williams, PLLC
Nashville, TN
david.ewing@montgomerybell.edu

Piko Ewoodzie
Davidson College
Davidson, NC
ewoodzie@gmail.com

Terence Fails
Nashville, TN
28tbone@comcast.net

Dale Faunce
Springer Mountain Farms
Mt. Airy, GA
dalefaunce@springermountainfarms.com

Paul Fehribach
Big Jones
Chicago, IL
paul@bigjoneschicago.com

Keebe Fitch
The Fearrington House
Pittsboro, NC
keebe@fearrington.com

Sunshine Flagg
Feast BBQ
Louisville, KY
sunshine@feastbbq.com

Sean Fowler
Mandolin
Raleigh, NC
seanf@mandolinraleigh.com

Mary Ann Francis
Falls Church, VA
mafrancis@cox.net

Anne Freeze
Columbus, MS
anniefreeze@me.com

Terry Freeze
Columbus, MS
terryfreeze@bellsouth.net

Frye Gaillard
John Egerton Scholar in Residence
Coden, AL
fgaillard@jaguar1.usouthal.edu

Caren Gallaher
Knoxville, TN
caren@completesurgicalcare.com

Tom Gallaher
Knoxville, TN
tgall82797@aol.com

Cheryl Galway
Whole Foods Market
Roswell, GA
cheryl.galway@wholefoods.com

Sarah Gavigan
POP Nashville
Nashville, TN
sarah@popnashville.com

Max Goldberg
Strategic Hospitality
Nashville, TN
max@strategichospitalityonline.com

Jason Goodenough
Carrollton Market
New Orleans, LA
Jason.Goodenough@gmail.com

Peter Hairston
Winston-Salem, NC
peterhairston1@me.com

Lauren Haitas
White Lily / DVL Seigenthaler
Nashville, TN
lauren.haitas@dvlseigenthaler.com

John Hall
Post Office Pies
Birmingham, AL
johnanthony.hall@gmail.com

Melissa Hall
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
melissa@southernfoodways.org

Angela Hansberger
Tucker, GA
englishanj@gmail.com

Cheryl Hansen
Oxford, MS
cheryl.hansen@gmail.com

Kathy Harber
Atlanta, GA
kathy.harber@gmail.com

Randy Harber
Atlanta, GA
rhharber@gmail.com

Anne Walker Harrison
Nashville, TN
foodshednashville@gmail.com

Steve Haruch
Nashville Scene
Nashville, TN
sharuch@gmail.com

Hamid Hassan
House of Kabob
Nashville, TN
hamidnizdori@hotmail.com

Deana Hilton
East Point, GA
dhilton@stmarkumc.org

Tien Ho
Whole Foods Market
Austin, TX
tienvietho@gmail.com

Michelle Hooper
Cary, NC
mhooper14@gmail.com

Alba Huerta
SFA Board / Julep
Houston, TX
alba@julephouston.com

Brian Huston
White Lily / J.M. Smucker Company
Orrville, OH
brian.huston@jmsmucker.com

Pamela Jackson
Musician
Nashville, TN

Jason James
Cast Iron Creatives
Savannah, GA
jason@castironcreatives.com

TJ Jarrett
Nashville, TN
tanya.jarrett@gmail.com

André Prince Jeffries
Prince’s Hot Chicken
Nashville, TN

Robin Riddell Jones
Tavola
Nashville, TN
robbin.riddell@gmail.com

Jennifer Justus
Dirty Pages
Nashville, TN
jenniferjustus8@gmail.com

Brad Kaplan
Atlanta, GA
kaplanbr@yahoo.com

Elizabeth Karmel
Girls at the Grill
Chicago, IL
elizabeth@elizabethkarmel.com

Jonathan Kauffman
San Francisco Chronical
San Francisco, CA
jonathanekauffman@gmail.com

Mark Kelly
Lodge Manufacturing Company
South Pittsburg, TN
mkelly@lodgemfg.com

Debbie Koenig
Clemmons, NC
Dkoenig517@yahoo.com

Faith Krahn
Martha White / J.M. Smucker Company
Orrville, OH
faith.krahn@jmsmucker.com

Philip Krajeck
Rolf & Daughters
Nashville, TN
philip@rolfanddaughters.com

Michael Kramer
Table 301
Greenville, SC
kramer@table301.com

Janet Kurtz
Kurtz Hospitality Marketing
Nashville, TN
janetdkurtz@gmail.com

Francis Lam
SFA Board/Clarkson Potter
Brooklyn, NY
chopsticksenator@gmail.com

Brian Landry
Our House Hospitality
New Orleans, LA
blandry@chefjohnbesh.com

Jon Langford
Southern Soul BBQ
St. Simon’s Island, GA
jon@jonlangfordcpa.com

Mary Beth Lasseter
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
marybeth@southernfoodways.org

Margaret Lawrence
Feast BBQ
Louisville, KY
margaret@feastbbq.com

Matt Leff
Rhizome Productions
Nashville, TNmatt@rhizomeproductions.com

Carroll Leggett
Metro Magazine
Winston-Salem, NC
cleggett@triad.rr.com

Andrea Lindsley
Martha White / DVL Seigenthaler
Nashville, TN
andrea.lindsley@dvlseigenthaler.com

Paul Lindsley
Phase 3 Marketing & Communications
Nashville, TN
paul.lindsley@phase3mc.com

Desiree Litchford
Biscuit Love Brunch
Nashville, TN
dlitchford@biscuitlovebrunch.com

Andrew Little
Josephine
Nashville, TN
andrew.little@communityhospitality.com

Billy Logan
KarpReilly
Greenwich, CT
wlogan@karpreilly.com

Rob Long
SFA Board
Venice, CA
rcbl@mac.com

John Lorentzen
Chesaning, MI
johnlorentzen@me.com

Ava Lowrey
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
ava@southernfoodways.org

Thomas Marlow
Harper’s Restaurant Group
Charlotte, NC
tmarlow@harpersgroup.com

Ann Marshall
High Wire Distillery
Charleston, SC
annhmarshall@mac.com

Joy Martin
Nashville, TN
joy.martin45@gmail.com

Martha Martin
Martin’s Bar-B-Que Joint
Nashville, TN
marthaann32@gmail.com

Pat Martin
Martin’s Bar-B-Que Joint
Nashville, TN
patrick@martinsbbqjoint.com

Paul Martin
Nashville, TN
pmintn@gmail.com

Jenna Mason
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
jenna@southernfoodways.org

Catherine Mayhew
Brentwood, TN
catherinemayhew@comcast.net

Andrew McCabe
Royals Hot Chicken
Louisville, KY
andrew@royalschicken.com

John McClendon
Scottsboro, AL
johnmcclendonsr@yahoo.com

Katie McClendon
Jackson, MS
kmcclendon@umc.edu

Martha McClendon
Scottsboro, AL
marthamcclendon1954@gmail.com

Nancie McDermott
Chapel Hill, NC
nanciemac@gmail.com

Jennifer McKay
The Kitchen Table
Hattiesburg, MS
jennifer@kitchentablenow.com

Kennard McKay
The Kitchen Table
Hattiesburg, MS
kennard@kitchentablenow.com

Roy Milner
Blackberry Farm Brewery
Maryville, TN
roy@blackberryfarm.com

Susanna Milner
Maryville, TN
SusannaMilner@paradigmgroup.net

Leslie Mitchell
Tuscaloosa, AL
lmitchell13@aol.com

Elizabeth Moore
Green Olive Media
Atlanta, GA
emoore@greenolivemedia.com

Jeffrey Moore
Green Olive Media
Atlanta, GA
jmoore@greenolivemedia.com

Maggie Moore
Our House Hospitality
Metairie, LA
maggie@onehousehospitality.com

Richard Moore
Pawleys Island, SC
rhmoore@sc.rr.com

Robin Morris
Pawleys Island, SC
mrm@sc.rr.com

Angie Mosier
Placemat Productions, Inc.
Atlanta, GA
angie@placematproductions.com

Pam Moye
Hamilton, GA
pambmoye@charter.net

Erin Murray
Nashville, TN
murray.erinb@gmail.com

Jim Myers
The Tennessean
Nashville, TN
jtmyers@tennesean.com

Andy Nelson
Green Brier Distillery
Nashville, TN
andy@greenbrierdistillery.com

Charlie Nelson
Green Brier Distillery
Nashville, TN
charlie@greenbrierdistillery.com

Michael Blake Nelson
GW Fins
New Orleans, LA
chefmike@gwfins.com

Ted Nelson
Springer Mountain Farms
Atlanta, GA
ted@wellcomusa.com

Jay Oglesby
SFA Board / Wells Fargo
Charlotte, NC
jay@oglesby.com

Tabitha Ong Tune
A la Mode Media
Nashville, TN
tabitha@alamodemedia.com

Ted Ownby
Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Oxford, MS
hsownby@olemiss.edu

Steve Palmer
The Indigo Road
Charleston, SC
spalmer@theindigoroad.com

Catarina Passidomo
Foodways Professor, University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS
passidomo@olemiss.edu

Richard Patrick
Cathead Distillery
Nashville, TNrichard@catheaddistillery.com

Joel Penn
Heirloom Café
Athens, GA
joel@heirloomathens.com

Michael Perez
The Indigo Road
Charleston, SC
mperez@theindigoroad.com

Angel Postell
Home Team Public Relations
Charleston, SC
angel@hometeampr.com

Davis Raines
Musician
Nashville, TN
songranger@aol.com

Alice Randall
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN
alice.randall@vanderbilt.edu

Kris Reid
Piedmont Culinary Guild
Belmont, NC
kleighreid@yahoo.com

Mary Reynolds
Phase 3 Marketing & Communications
Atlanta, GA
mary@thereynoldsgroupinc.com

Wilson Richey
The Whiskey Jar
Charlottesville, VA
wilsonrichey@gmail.com

Billy Robertson
Nashville, TN
B3yr@icloud.com

Ryan Rogers
Feast BBQ
Louisville, KY
ryan@feastbbq.com

Brent Rosen
Hoffman Media
New Orleans, LA
brentlrosen@gmail.com

Caroline Rosen
John Besh Foundation
New Orleans, LA
caroline@johnbeshfoundation.org

Joshua Rosenbaum
Johnson and Wales University
Charlotte, NC
joshua.rosenbaum@jwu.edu

Jessica Rothacker
Heirloom Café
Athens, GA
jessica@heirloomathens.com

Karla Ruiz
Karla’s Catering
Nashville, TN
karlas.catering@comcast.net

Karen-Lee Ryan
Nashville, TN
walkeatnashville@gmail.com

Doug Sanders
Nashville, TN
doug.sanders@bellsouth.net

Tom Sasser
Harper’s Restaurant Group
Charlotte, NC
tom@harpersgroup.com

Ellen Schmedinghoff
Polished Pig Media
Charleston, SC
ellen@polishedpigmedia.com

Catherine Schopfer
Anson Mills
Charlotte, NC
catherine@ansonmills.com

Jeff Schopfer
Charlotte, NC
jaschopfer@gmail.com

Jacob Schwarz
Nashville, TN
jschwarz06@gmail.com

Judy Shertzer
Carrboro, NC
soupsister@msn.com

Elizabeth Sims
Asheville, NC
elsims@aol.com

Bill Smith
SFA Board / Crook’s Corner
Chapel Hill, NC
billsmithjr@earthlink.net

Renata Soto
Conexión Americas
Nashville, TN
renata@conamericas.com

Fritz Spainhour
Nashville, TN
fritzspainhour@gmail.com

Chris Stewart
The Glass Onion
Charleston, SC
ctstew76@yahoo.com

Suzanne Stewart
The Glass Onion
Charleston, SC
skstewart42@yahoo.com

Pardis Stitt
SFA Board / Highlands Bar and Grill
Birmingham, AL
pardis@highlandsbarandgrill.com

Eleanor Straub
Metairie, LA
estraub@aol.com

Philip Straub
Metairie, LA
pstraub@palig.com

Albert Lee Strickland
Capitola, CA
pacpub@cruzio.com

Claire Sullivan
Martha White / DVL Seigenthaler
Nashville, TN
claire.sullivan@dvlseigenthaler.com

Jude Tauzin
Opelousas, LA
Jude@tonychachere.com

Kathy Teree
Kentfield, CA
babyfork@gmail.com

Afton Thomas
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
afton@southernfoodways.org

Jason Thompson
Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Co.
Nashville, TN
jvernont@icloud.com

Rogers Thompson
Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Co.
Nashville, TN
rogersthompson@gmail.com

Lynne Tolley
Jack Daniel’s Distillery
Lynchburg, TN
lynne_tolley@jackdaniels.com

Aniela Valtierra
La Cocina
San Francisco, CA
aniela@lacocinasf.org

Sophia Vaughn
Silver Sands Café
Nashville, TN
silversandscafe37208@gmail.com

Cindy Wall
Nashville, TN
cindy.e.wall@gmail.com

Emily Wallace
Southern Cultures
Durham, NC
emilyewallace@gmail.com

Shane Wallace
Galveston College
Galveston, TX
swallace@gc.edu

Scott Wallen
Harper’s Restaurant Group
Charlotte, NC
swallen@harpersgroup.com

Bryan Weaver
Butcher and Bee
Nashville, TN
bweaver@butcherandbee.com

Lydia West
Jackson, MS
elle_west@yahoo.com

Emery Whalen
Our House Hospitality
New Orleans, LA
emery@onehousehospitality.com

Memorie White
Antioch, TN
memoriew@fmmlawfirm.com

Kate Wiggins
Nathalie Dupree Fellow, University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS
crwiggin@go.olemiss.edu

Lynne Wilkinson
ReArranging Spaces
The Wilkinson Agency
Nashville, TN
lynnepwilkinson@aol.com

Caroline Randall Williams
West Virginia University
Nashville, TN
caroline.randall.williams@gmail.com

Matt Wilson
Springer Mountain Farms
Nashville, TN
matt@dovecote.com

Tandy Wilson
City House
Nashville, TN
tandy@cityhousenashville.com

Scott Witherow
Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Co.
Nashville, TN
scott@oliveandsinclair.com

Matthew Wong
Gumbo Marketing
Atlanta, GA
matt@gumbomarketing.com

Sara Wood
Southern Foodways Alliance
Oxford, MS
sara@southernfoodways.org

Karl Worley
Biscuit Love Brunch
Franklin, TN
sarah@biscuitlovebrunch.com

Sarah Worley
Biscuit Love Brunch
Franklin, TN
sarah@biscuitlovebrunch.com

Kevin Young
Emory University
Decatur, GA
kevin.lowell.young@gmail.com

Josh Zanoff
The Whiskey Jar
Charlottesville, VA
thewhiskeyjar@gmail.com